Boys Varsity Football · Former Titan, Mooney Named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Tulane University senior Darnell Mooney was honored this week by the Tallahasee Quarterback Club Foundation, as he was named to the 2019 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the season’s outstanding FBS receiver in college football.

Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

Mooney earned the preseason recognition thanks to a breakout junior season where he led the Green Wave in every major receiving category. He finished with 993 yards, 48 receptions and eight touchdowns. Mooney’s 76.4 yards per game and 3.7 receptions per game both ranked in The American’s top 10. His 20.6 yards per catch led the league and ranked sixth nationally. Following his impressive 2018 campaign, Mooney was named All-AAC by Phil Steele Magazine.

Mooney’s honor adds to a growing list of Tulane individuals that have been named to preseason watch lists. Earlier this week, junior defensive lineman Patrick Johnson was chosen to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, senior running back Darius Bradwell was selected as a Doak Walker Candidate and graduate transfer Christian Montano was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see Receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at

The 2019 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2019, at the College Football Hall of Fame on The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan to be broadcast 7:00 – 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN.

Article courtesy of